Sen. Tim Johnson to Head Banking Committee

By Patrick O’Connor

Sen. Tim Johnson (D., S.D.) is the new chairman of the Senate Banking Committee. Alaska Sen. Lisa Murkowski keeps her committee posts after defying Republican leaders to defeat the GOP nominee in the midterm elections.

Incoming Senate Banking Committee Chairman Sen. Tim Johnson (D., S.D.) shakes hands with National Credit Union Administration Chairman Deborah Matz on Dec. 9, 2010, prior to her testifying before the committee. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)

West Virginia Sen. Joe Manchin, a Democrat known for a campaign commercial in which he shot a bullet through a cap-and-trade bill, got a a seat on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee. And Fed Chairman Ben Bernanke can breathe a sigh of relief that first-year Sen. Rand Paul (R., Ky.), a tea party favorite, isn’t on the panel that oversees the central bank.

Those are just a few of the takeaways from committee assignments that were just announced this afternoon in the Senate.

Six freshmen Republicans won spots on the Appropriations Committee, which doles out federal spending, including Wisconsin Sen. Ron Johnson, a favorite of the tea party who promised to cut spending during his successful campaign to oust Democrat Russ Feingold. Most are seasoned legislators, including Indiana Sen. Dan Coats who returns to the chamber after more than a decade away, and the three House members who got a promotion.

This being the Senate there weren’t a lot of surprises.

View the lists here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: